The NYS Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services (NYS OASAS) funds Peer Engagement Specialist throughout the state.

The primary goal of the Peer Engagement Specialist is to utilize their own addiction and recovery expertise, similar to Recovery Coaches and Peer Recovery Advocates, to serve as a resource for individuals and families in various settings (such as emergency departments) due to their substance use. These Specialists know where to find help and how to effectively engage with individuals who want to enter into recovery.

For more information about Peer Engagement Specialists in your area call your local OASAS field office representative.   You can find them listed here.

Scroll down to find the specialist nearest to you.

Albany

Catholic Charities
1-866-930-4999 to reach Peer Engagement Specialist
(518) 449-3581 ext. 103
Stephanie Lao, Executive Director
stephaniel@ccalbany.org

Broome County

Addiction Center of Broome County
30 West State Street, 2nd Floor
Binghamton, New York 13901
(607) 723-7308 ext. 132
Cindy Gerhart
(607) 222-8318
cindyjg@stny.rr.com
Sharice Clouser
(607) 321-3642
sharicec@stny.rr.com

Cortland

CCSI-through Onondaga
Cortland Co. Mental Health
7 Clayton Ave.
Cortland, NY 13045
315-748-2404
Linda Martin
lmartin@CCSI.org

Erie County

Western NY Independent Living Center
3108 Main Street
Buffalo, New York 14214
(716) 836-2726
Addict to Addict/Family to Family
(716) 836-0822 x 135
Shannon Veiders, Team Leader
sveiders@wnyil.org
http://www.wnyil.org/services.html

Madison

CCSI-through Onondaga
315-632-8671
Angel Gonzalez
angel.g@workmail.com

Monroe County

Syracuse Behavioral Health
714 Hickory Street
Syracuse, New York 13203
(315) 701-1518
www.sbh.org
Jordan Eubanks, CRPA
jordane@sbh.org

New York

Odyssey House/Mt. Sinai-Beth Israel
219 E. 121st St.
New York, New York 10035
212-987-5186
Mark Fowler
mfowler@odysseyhousenyc.org

Odyssey House/Mt.Sinai-Beth Israel
103 East 125th Street
New York, New York 10035
(212) 774-3306
Anita Kennedy
akennedy@mountsinai.org
(646) 574-9904

Oneida County

Rescue Mission
212 Rutger Street
Utica, New York 13501
Peer Support Advocate Programs
Danyelle Kampf
danyelle.kampf@uticamission.org
(315) 864-1893
Richard Brown
richard.brown@uticamission.org
(315) 534-3537

Onondaga County

Prevention Network
421 Montgomery Street, 10th floor
Syracuse, New York 13202
(315) 435-3355 x 4941
Maria Sweeney
mariasweeney@ongov.net
Referrals must be made through Syracuse hospitals

St. Lawrence County

Seaway Valley
206 Ford Street, Suite 301
Ogdensburg, New York 13669
(315) 713-4861 ext.5012
Felicia Dumas
recovery@svpc.net